Prince Fielder and Miguel Cabrera.
Until today, the Tigers had not had a third baseman win the Silver Slugger Award since 1999.  Today, Miguel Cabrera joined Dean Palmer as the only two Tigers to win the award as third basemen.

Cabrera and Prince Fielder (first base) were both selected as Silver Slugger Award winners as the top offensive players at their positions.  For Cabrera, it was his fourth time he has won the award.  For Fielder, it was his 3rd selection.

Below is a complete list of Tigers Silver Slugger Award winners since the award was first handed out in 1980.  Fielder joins his dad Cecil who won the award twice.

1980 Lance Parrish C
1982 Lance Parrish C
         Lou Whitaker 2B
1983 Lance Parrish C
         Lou Whitaker 2B
1984 Lance Parrish C
         Lou Whitaker 2B
1985 Lou Whitaker 2B
1986 Lance Parrish C
1987 Matt Nokes C
         Lou Whitaker 2B
         Alan Trammell SS
1988 Alan Trammell SS
1990 Cecil Fielder 1B
         Alan Trammell SS
1991 Mickey Tettleton C
         Cecil Fielder 1B
1992 Mickey Tettleton C
         Travis Fryman SS
1998 Damion Easley 2B
1999 Dean Palmer 3B
2004 Ivan Rodriguez C
2007 Magglio Ordonez OF
         Placido Polanco 2B
2010 Miguel Cabrera 1B
2011 Alex Avila C



Leave a Reply